Busy News Day

There are days when breaking news emails fly into my inbox faster than any Nigerian prince can send a blast of a million or more spam emails.  Today’s one of those days.  Before I get into it and before I forget – I am finally – FINALLY – on Twitter!  So be sure to follow me (is “follow” the right word?  Bear with me…it’s a slow dance).

But on to all the breaking news.  Living on the Gulf Coast, we watch the tropics for six months out of the year.  Right now, all signs point to a tropical storm putting my neck of the woods in its crosshairs.  It’s not been named yet, but from what I’ve seen, it looks like we may have Tropical Storm Danielle before long.

Looks as though Florida’s following Arizona into the immigration ring, ready to do battle.  Don your boxing gloves, folks – this is going to be a ten rounder!  Florida’s State Attorney Bill McCollum says he’s confident this new bill will survive a court challenge.

And what’s going on with the Dow?  Wow!  Right now, it’s down 240 points; then again, I was having difficulties understanding how it was maintaining a pretty consistent pattern with all the bad economic news coming out of D.C.  I don’t even pretend to be a financial whiz – I can balance my checkbook, but beyond that?  Yeah, I’m not the one you’d want to call for help with some impressive mathematical formula.

Oh…and before I forget.  Linda McMahon?  Really?  Let’s just say I hope this Republican powerhouse brings some of her WWE friends to Capitol Hill.  Now THAT’S a pay-per-view I’d buy!  Could you imagine one of those big wrestlers body slamming some of our less than ethical political leaders?  That ranks right up there with the day Blue Bell ice cream loses all its calories,  my book hits the New York Times Bestseller List and Judge Judy has someone in front of her that she’s actually nice to.

Don’t forget to stop by Twitter!  Click the link or my i.d. is cat_5_cane. Of course, I’m still diggin’ Facebook, even if I am learning the Twitter dynamics.  Visit/Friend me on Facebook if you haven’t already done so.  Also, I’m going to be putting together a newsletter in the very near future.  If you’re interested, click on the link to the right and let me know!  I’ll add you to my mailing list.  And I promise – no one else gets access to it and I’ll use it only to send out the newsletter.  I’m sure I’ll make it available on the website, but I also like the idea of incorporating email, too.  Have any good ideas for the newsletter or something you’d like to see included?  First one who emails me with a story idea or suggestion for any aspect of the newsletter receives a complimentary 350 word article or blog – your choice of topics (but please…be kind, folks…I blush easily, so let’s keep it clean)!  Email me at donna@donnamcgill.com.

Leave a Reply

