Those We’re Stuck Sharing the Human Race With

Christine O'Donnel (Courtesy AP)

These days, the promise I made to myself to stop being so judgmental has really been put to the test.  I’m the world’s worst when it comes to “on my mind, on my tongue”.  But I try.  The headlines over the past few days, however, are enough to make even the Saints question the human race.

Of course, this latest “What are they thinking” list starts with….wait for it….politics.  Christine O’Donnell…need I say more?  Probably not, but I will.  How can anyone not know the First Amendment?  In all fairness, this Amendment has been stomped and annihilated over the years; it’s difficult to understand many of those who twist it to serve their purposes, but the basic foundation?  Really?  This is supposed to be an intelligent and educated woman, right?  Instead of asking “Where in the First Amendment does it say that?”, she should be headed back to the fifth grade where we learned all about the framers of the Constitution and why the Bill of Rights exist, not to mention what they actually are.  The worse part, for me anyway, is she’s a Republican.  Not cool, O’Donnell.  Not cool at all.

Next up, the idiot who filmed the moments following a fatal car crash involving a young Georgia woman.  That in itself is bad enough, but the cell phone video made its way to her grieving parents.  They heard every word the first responders said and adding to their grief was the lack of consideration given to their daughter.  They say there was more attention being focused on what was on the dashboard and the lighting for the video camera than the fact someone was in need of help.  I’ve not seen the video and have no plans to.  My mom used to say that if something happened to my sister or me, they would have to “bury me next to you”.  It’s not until we become parents that we understand that fear that haunts to the core of who we are.  These parents are living it.  The jackass responsible for filming it needs to be fired – immediately.

Speaking of jackasses, what was Ginny Thomas thinking when she called Anita Hill to request an apology for the 1991 brouhaha that could have prevented her husband, Clarence Thomas, from gaining confirmation to the Supreme Court?  It’s true.  Last week, the Justice’s missus left a voice mail for Anita Hill, that said, in part, “Good morning, Anita Hill.  It’s Ginny Thomas.  I just wanted to reach across the airwaves and years and ask you to consider something.  I would love you to consider an apology sometime and some full explanation of why you did what you did with my husband”.

Supreme Court Justice and Mrs. Clarence Thomas

C’mon, lady.  It’s been what…almost 20 years now?  Seriously?  That’s what consumes your days?  I hope Justice Thomas had a “come to Jesus meeting” with the wifey when he got home from deciding national issues that day.  I can’t imagine him supporting any phone call to Hill.  She needs to get a hobby; volunteer or something.

Of course, these are just a few of the many…many frustrating news stories today; all courtesy of those we share the human race with.  Delightful, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

