Save the Words

As much as I love what I do for a living – and I do love it – there are times I get so sick of the same words used over and over.  I have to run the “find” feature in Word just to be sure I haven’t overused habitual words that my fingers just type without even realizing it.  Right now, those two words are “great” and “incredible”.  Not very inspiring, are they?  The last thing I would ever want to see in my inbox is a request for a revision for a little more creativity in my adjectives.  For me, that would not be an incredible experience and I wouldn’t feel so great.  See what I mean?

Imagine my surprise when I discovered these little tidbits of info today:

  • There are close the 60,000 words in the English language (I really thought there’d be more)
  • In our every day conversation and writing efforts, we use only about 7,000 of those words.
  • Hundreds of words are unceremoniously discontinued every single year.  Who knew?!

The folks at Oxford University Press have started a “Save the Words” campaign.  The goal is to broaden all of our horizons while increasing the creativity in our conversations.  Hey, I’m always up for some improvement – I finally gave up on trying to convince the world I was perfect and just embraced the reality.  So, I adopted a word! Trust me, it’s much easier than adopting a new puppy, which was something I’d been considering and will probably still do anyway, though I dread the whole housetraining nightmare.

My word is:

Keleusmatically

It’s defined asin a demanding manner

Used in a sentenceNo sooner than I get the food to the table and sit down to have dinner, everyone begins keleusmatically asking me for random things they could just as easily get for themselves.

Want to adopt your own word?  Head over to SaveTheWords.org.  And now, I have to go add my new word to my spell check dictionary because Word keeps keleusmatically telling me it doesn’t exist.

2 thoughts on “Save the Words

  1. I have found that opening up a classic, such as a Jane Austen novel or even an Edgar Allen Poe work of fiction, clears up my repetitive words. The vocabularies of the classics are a sure way to find new ways of articulating the same old thoughts.

Leave a Reply

