Best Time of the Year!

Bows & Happies!

I love this time of year! I do – I always have.  As all Americans can likely attest to, the budgets have been reined in for Christmas shopping.  The past few years have caused many of us to take a step back and re-evaluate what’s really important.  I’d decided in 2004 it was time to come back home.  I missed my family and I was very homesick.  Even though I was only about 100 miles away, it seemed like a million.  I wasn’t able to see my sister every day if I wanted and even though I tried to make it home every weekend, it was still tough not being closer to my family.  I had already finished my own re-evaluation of how I wanted my life to look – it’s amazing the perspective you get for your hometown when you’re miles away.  So back home I came.  I have never been happier.  The new career choice was another incredible decision I made, even though it’s always difficult to forge ahead when you’re not sure of how it’s done.

Christmas is that time of year we find ourselves rewinding our lives.  We think back to Christmases past, from the time we were kids up until we have our own little ones.  Some traditions we cling to, but most of us like the idea of writing our own rules.  For me, it’s always the presentation.  If I could wrap Christmas presents and make bows all year, I’d be a happy camper and would never struggle with writer’s block.  There’s something so

Jake in 1994

peaceful about taking the parts to create the sum of a pretty package.  And because I start my holiday shopping in August or early September, I have plenty of time to spend on it.  I’ve had presents wrapped for two months!

Of course, my problem is I have a really hard time keeping these secrets, so I end up letting Jake open Christmas presents in November.  Ah…but see…that’s one of those traditions I kept from my own childhood.  We were always so excited the closer it got to Christmas because that meant we could open a present a week.  My sister and I had a blast as we’d shake one box and measure another one in an effort to decide if the box was big enough for those jeans or shoes we’d just “die if we didn’t get” (Think I’m kidding? Check out the photo below.).  We had to choose carefully because one

My love for shoes began early!

present each is what we got.  I’ve not mastered that kind of self discipline, but I’m a work in progress and I doubt seriously my son is any hurry for me to acquire that patience.

So as we begin counting the days down, each passing day becomes more exciting for me because I know it’s just a matter of time before everyone starts opening their coordinated packages to discover what awaits them.  I can’t wait!

Here’s to all of our Christmases being the best time of the year!

2 thoughts on “Best Time of the Year!

  1. I can definitely understand the fear of forging ahead when your not sure what steps to take. That pretty much summed up my life right now. I think just remembering what’s really important in life–family and friends, makes stepping out into the unknown much easier. My husband is extremely proud of me, and lately my dad has been making comments about how amazed he is at my resourcefulness. What they don’t realize is that without them, this courageous person would probably never have been able to come life.

    Blessings,
    Jessica

Leave a Reply

