Wouldn’t You Love to be a Fly on the Wall?

With the high rate of divorces in this country, it hovers between 48% and 50% in the U.S. according to the CDC, there are many ex and new wives who must find a way to co-exist when there are children involved. Here’s the question, though, would you be willing to go to counseling sessions with your ex-husband’s new wife? That’s exactly what happened with celebrities Eddie Cibrian, LeAnn Rimes and Brandi Glanville. According to many sources, it was the Rimes-Cibrian camp that made the suggestion. Those same sources say it went less than ideal. Is anyone really

Rimes and Cibrian

surprised, though?

Human nature is what it is. Although I never have to worry about being the ex asked to attend counseling, I can remember being the new wife and the distrust and immediate dislike for the ex-wife. The feeling was definitely mutual. We just didn’t get along. We did, however, have enough sense to not bring the little ones into it and we certainly never embarrassed ourselves, but we just did not mesh on any level. In hindsight, I think a lot of it had to do with the one thing we had in common: the husband. And these days, we have even more in common: he’s now my ex too.

There were many times I wished she would drop off the face of the earth- and again, I know she felt the same way. Her children were incredible; and I can say she is -and always was from what I can tell – an incredible mother. They too are now grown and I’m sure they’re living good lives. With Cibrian, Rimes and Glanville, though, their children are really young and they have many years ahead of them that will include the three of them having to find a way to co-exist while also attending many of the same events. From school plays to graduations to marriages to births of grandchildren, these three will find themselves in the same room many times over the next few decades. I think, though, a lot of the discord between the women has to do with the fact Cibrian left his marriage, as did Rimes, so the two of them could be together. I

Glanville and Cibrian

imagine there would be some mighty strong emotions attached. But counseling? Really? Maybe it’s just me, but did anyone really believe a happy ending would be waiting for them on the psychiatrist’s sofa? Nah….human nature is just too powerful.

In the end, the sessions didn’t serve their purpose and the whole effort was wrapped with the request for Glanville to sign a non-disclosure agreement. She declined. See what I mean?

One thought on “Wouldn’t You Love to be a Fly on the Wall?

  1. WOW! When I was married, counseling with my then-hubby was agonizing enough! If his ex-wife had been there too, I can only imagine . . . . that I would have pleaded to her to take him back. . hey, wait minute that could’ve been an easy answer sooooo long ago. . .Enough Monday Morning Quarterback to the tune of Tiffany’s Could’ve Been . . This sounds insane, but I could so see this becoming a plot on a sitcom real soon. . .Seriously though, I wouldn’t sign a non-disclosure agreement, not with the father of these kids getting his child support payments cut down-she may have to sell her story to put food on the table one day. . . That would make a great Lifetime Movie that I would definitely want to be an extra in. What about these kids? Do they get therapy too because what’s the point to all this if the kids are still left out?

Leave a Reply

