I Have the Answers – They’re Just Not Politically Correct

Ever have one of those weeks when you just know you’re the one with the answers, but no one’s listening? Yeah, me too. There’s so much – I don’t even know where to start.

First up – if you haven’t seen our president’s latest fundraising efforts, fair warning – it’s a doozy. Take a look –

That’s right – he wants all our birthday bling. And apparently he’s willing to take on Bridezilla too because he’s more than happy to raid bridal showers across the nation. Here’s the kicker though – earlier this month, he’d made two stops in two days – one in Chicago and the other in Minneapolis. The trips were fundraising efforts for his campaign. Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel, who is also Obama’s former chief of staff, introduced him to close to four hundred people who gained entry by shelling over at least $2,500 per person. From there, he attended two more events where folks forked over $35,000 each to be in his presence. Yes – that figure is right – $35,000 and here’s the link. It’s estimated he brought in a whopping $5 million between Chicago and his quick layover in Minneapolis. And he wants my birthday present too? Not in this lifetime.

Now, in all fairness, by the time I saw the latest on his blog, I’d already had a bellyful of his antics this week. Take a look at a few of his tweets. It seems like every time he finds himself in front of a camera or in front his computer, he’s telling us what we need to do. I mean, seriously, Obama wants us to tell Congress this or that? Why? Congress isn’t listening to us (as in the American voter) no more than Obama’s listening to us.

So then, today, I’m plundering around Facebook and saw this picture that a friend had tagged. Those photos are tough to see. But the very next picture on my newsfeed is what had my blood boiling.

Am I the only one who gets the irony? Romney is as unplugged as Obama is. I am absolutely confident that if folks took that $5 Romney wants and gave it to the veteran to either reclaim his house or find another one, it would be money well-invested.

Moodys downgraded fifteen banks around the world yesterday – and the top five are based in the United States. Here’s where it gets good though. Immediately – as in within hours – the whining began. The banks were bellyaching that the passage of the Dodd-Frank reform is why they’re struggling. Uhm…if I remember correctly, it was the irresponsible actions, greed and non-compliance with the laws that were already in place that led to Dodd-Frank to start with. Had the accounting scandals, mortgage inconsistencies and downright illegal behaviors of some bank executives not been discovered, these folks would still be moving forward, playing by their own rules. They got caught, then got hit with the repercussions – and now they have the audacity to blame it on new regulations?

Alright – Eric Holder and the Fast & Furious scandal. This is just one more thing that’s had my interest all week. OK, so I know this isn’t even realistic – but it should be: charge Holder with manslaughter or accessory after the fact or something besides contempt. He – and the Obama Administration – are once again writing the rules as they go. And don’t even get me started on the Dream Act and Obama’s sudden announcement last week.

All of these current events – and it seems like the only folks who have no say in how any of it plays out are the American taxpayers. Yes, I know we go to the polls in November, but I’ve said it before – I would be surprised if there wasn’t a record set for low voter turnout. Frankly, I don’t think either of the candidates are capable of running this country.

Finally, and speaking of having no say in something – my son announced – on Facebook, no less – that he’s ready to start skydiving lessons. Just when my nerves settle down after he earns his diving certs, he announces he’s now ready for something even more dangerous. Where he got the idea that once he hit 21 he could play by his own rules is beyond me.

Leave a Reply

