Cher the Hypocrite?

Why can’t celebrities leave politics alone if they have no concept of what they’re even talking about? Before y’all start emailing me that celebrities have voices, too – you should know I get that. And I absolutely, positively agree. But celebrity or no, they’re just as accountable for the things they say as anyone else. And Cher’s just dealt us a doozy.

I have no idea where some artists (or stars or celebrities – take your pick) get the idea their foul-mouthed antics serve any purpose. And I might be wrong, but if I were the president, the last person I’d want going to bat for me is Cher. Then again…considering the president….

Did anyone hear her interview with Randi Roberts this week? Ugh….disgusting. And clueless. And classless, too.

She was speaking with Randi Roberts about the grief she believes President Obama suffers as a black president:

ImageRoberts: Why do you think there’s so much hatred? Is it because he’s black?

Cher: I definitely think there’s a component of racism in it. I think the Republicans thought they were gonna be in office forever and they weren’t and they got thrown out by a black man. Where are the people? The real people? The Latinos, the Asians…where are the black people? I’ve never seen such disrespect for a president. There has never been such disrespect for a president.

Really, Cher? Perhaps you’ve forgotten your past interviews. I can assure you there’s been such disrespect for a president:

Immediately following President Bush’s election in 2000 Cher told an Associated Press reporter:

“Has everyone lost their f–king minds? Doesn’t anybody remember the illustrious Reagan-Bush years when people had no money and no jobs? What has happened to people’s memories? It’s like they have Alzheimer’s or something! I don’t like Bush, I don’t trust him. I don’t like his record. He’s stupid. He’s lazy.”

Yeah, in my book, that counts as disrespect for a president.

Leave a Reply

